Home Learning


Please access the links below which may support your child’s home learning.

 

Online Safety

 

Please support your child in learning about online safety.

Staying connected online has never been more important, now that many of us are physically isolated from family members, friends, colleagues and support networks.

 

The internet is a great way to socialise, learn, work, play and be entertained. But there are also risks”

 

E-Safety: https://www.esafety.gov.au/kids

 

Department of Education Learning Packs

Foundation Learning Pack Day

Foundation Learning Pack Week

 

Year 1-2 Learning Pack Day

Year 1-2 Learning Pack Week

 

Year 3-4 Learning Pack Day

Year 3-4 Learning Pack Week

 

Year 5-6 Learning Pack Day

Year 5-6 Learning Pack Week

 

Mental Health and Wellbeing

  • Smiling Mind
  • Go Noodle
  • Cosmic Yoga

Literacy

Scholastic Magazines: https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html

Storyline Online: https://storylineonline.net/

Epic!: https://www.getepic.com/learn/ (Please contact your teacher on Seesaw for login details)

ABC Reading Eggs Learn to Read: https://readingeggs.com.au/ (Free trial or purchase a subscription)

Storytime from Space - https://storytimefromspace.com/library/ 

Magic Blox: https://magicblox.com/

Literacy Shed: https://www.literacyshed.com/the-images-shed.html

Kids Academy: http://www.kidsacademy.com.au/

ABC YA: http://abcya.com

Behind the News: https://www.abc.net.au/btn/

Kid Cyber: https://www.kidcyber.com.au/

Unite for Literacy: http://uniteforliteracy.com

 

Numeracy

Cool Math 4 Kids: https://www.coolmath4kids.com/

Khan Academy Kids: https://learn.khanacademy.org/khan-academy-kids/

Targeting Maths App: https://www.pascalpress.com.au/targeting-maths-apps/ (Purchase to use)

Maths at our house: https://nzmaths.co.nz/maths-our-house

Tiny Polka Dot: https://mathforlove.com/games/tiny-polka-dot/

Maths games and activities: https://theconversation.com/eleven-games-and-activities-for-parents-to-encourage-maths-in-early-learning-76522

Everyday maths: https://www.verywellfamily.com/everyday-home-math-activities-621043

FUSE Everyday maths: https://fuse.education.vic.gov.au/ResourcePackage/LandingPage?ObjectId=7a9a8d7d-8b9e-4694-a86a-3f358d8c5bc6&SearchScope=All

NRich Mathematics: https://nrich.maths.org/

Math for love: https://mathforlove.com/lesson-plan/games/

 

Inquiry / Mixed Resources

Room Recess: http://roomrecess.com

Tasmanian DET Activities for Home Learning (Ages 5-8): https://www.education.tas.gov.au/learning-at-home/5-8-years-of-age/ 

Tasmanian DET Activities for Home Learning (Ages 9-12): https://www.education.tas.gov.au/learning-at-home/9-12-years-of-age/

ABC Early Education: https://www.abc.net.au/abckids/early-education/

ABC Education: https://education.abc.net.au/home#!/home

NZ Ideas to hepl with reading, writing and maths: https://parents.education.govt.nz/primary-school/learning-and-development-at-home/ideas-to-help-with-reading-writing-and-maths/

Wonderopolis: https://wonderopolis.org/ 

Double Helix: https://blog.doublehelix.csiro.au/

Atlas of Living Australia: https://www.ala.org.au/classroom-exercises/

NASA: https://www.nasa.gov/

YouTube Kids: https://www.youtube.com/kids/

Google Earth: https://www.google.com/earth/

Brain Pop: https://www.brainpop.com/ (Free trial or Purchase to use)

Study Ladder Basic: https://www.studyladder.com.au/ (Please contact your teacher on Seesaw for login details if applicable)

National Geographic Library: https://www.nationalgeographic.org/education/classroom-resources/

Everyday Learning: https://www.pbslearningmedia.org/collection/everyday-learning/#.XnFTsagzZPY

Khan Academy: https://www.khanacademy.org/

Science Friday: https://www.sciencefriday.com/

PBS Kids: https://pbskids.org/

All Kids Network: https://www.allkidsnetwork.com/

Breakout EDU: https://www.breakoutedu.com/funathome

EdHelper: https://www.edhelper.com/teacher-education/Daily-Free-Learning-Workbooks-for-Teachers-to-Share-with-Parents-while-Schools-are-Closed-Kids-will-actually-do-these.htm

Mystery Science: https://mysteryscience.com/school-closure-planning

ABC Children’s Podcast Imagine This: https://www.abc.net.au/kidslisten/imagine-this/

ABC Children’s Podcast Short and Curly: https://www.abc.net.au/radio/programs/shortandcurly/

Blockly: https://blockly.games

BBC Learning: http://www.bbc.co.uk/learning/coursesearch/

Futurelearn: https://www.futurelearn.com

Scratch: https://scratch.mit.edu/explore/projects/games/

Ted Ed: https://ed.ted.com

National Geographic Kids: https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/

The Kids Should See This: https://thekidshouldseethis.com

Crash Course Kids: https://m.youtube.com/user/crashcoursekids

Prodigy Maths: https://www.prodigygame.com (Free account access)

Cbeebies Radio: https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio

Nature Detectives: https://naturedetectives.woodlandtrust.org.uk/naturedetect…/

Oxford Owl for Home: https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/

Geography Games: https://world-geography-games.com/world.html

The Artful Parent: https://www.facebook.com/artfulparent/

Toy Theater: https://toytheater.com/

Twinkl: https://www.twinkl.co.uk (Purchase to use)

Art for Kids Hub: https://www.artforkidshub.com/

 

Specialists

Duolingo: https://www.duolingo.com/

MSO Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/TheMSOrchestra (concerts will be live streamed)

 

Coding

Swift Playground: https://apps.apple.com/au/app/swift-playgrounds/id908519492

Scratch: https://scratch.mit.edu/

Pixel Art: https://www.pixilart.com/draw

 

Useful skills that families could teach children at home

How to tie your shoes

How to follow a recipe

Learning your home address and parent/guardian’s phone number/s

 

How to make a meal plan & grocery list on a budget

How to look after the house (make your bed, weed the garden, sort the recycling)

Build physical literacy (do yoga, play catch, play frisbee, kick a soccer ball, shoot hoops)

Build Fine motor skills (use lego, draw, colour, knit, crochet, cross- stitch, sew, weave)

Do a STEM challenge build a tower, boat, bridge) out of random materials around the house

 

Suggestions from our families to support your child with understanding COVID-19

Coronavirus for Kids, and the Science of Soap (Podcast): Podcast for children about Coronavirus

Coronavirus Comic for Kids: https://youtu.be/oERBAFiolpc

A Comic Exploring the New Coronavirus:

 https://www.npr.org/sections/goatsandsoda/2020/02/28/809580453/just-for-kids-a-comic-exploring-the-new-coronavirus

Coronavirus Social Story: https://www.flipsnack.com/KeshetChicago/coronavirus-social-story/full-view.html

Coronavirus (Stile): www.stileapp.com

 

© 2019 Ardeer Primary School